Morrissey fans in America

Amanda1024

Hi,

I think this is in the right section . . . I read the main page more than the forum, so I’m not positive . . . sorry to the mods if it’s not.

I’m a Journalism student at NYU writing my final paper for a class on the media’s coverage of American Morrissey fans. I was hoping some of you guys (US and non-US) might be willing to answer a few questions, both about yourselves as fans and the way you feel the media perceives American fans.

I think that American Moz fans are often shown as being obsessive and that publications almost seem to want to justify the reason they're fans. I think they tend to separate his fans into distinct groups (which are by no means all inclusive) as well – the diehards (new and from The Smiths days), Latinos, and “emos” like Fall Out Boy’s Pete Wentz and his fans. I plan to look at both the coverage of these groups and the fan base as a whole, while offering some fan point of views.

These are my questions:
1. As a fan, how do you feel Morrissey fans in America are portrayed? Is it an adequate portrayal?
2. Do you agree with my point that they are often split into different groupings? What do you think about the groupings (if you perceive them) and the way they are covered?
3. Do you feel you fit into any of the groups I mention? Why or why not?
4. Is Morrissey himself underrepresented/not understood in America? If so, could this be a reason for why the media seeks to justify the reason people are fans?
5. How could the coverage of Morrissey/his fans be improved?
6. How long have you been a fan and have you seen him live (if so, how many times)?

As I said before, this is for a class, though if I can find a blog or something that would be willing to post it, I’d like to have it published.

Feel free to message me any questions.

thanks!
Amanda

So..the academic standards at NYU are apparently in the toilet.

Well, I must say, "Huh?!?!"
Really??
This is going to generate a grade of some sort?