posted by davidt on Saturday April 03 2004, @09:00AM
An anonymous person writes:

I worked as a background extra on Irish Blood, English Heart. The video was shot over two days in a converted studio in Glendale, California.

Morrissey wore a pristine, tailored white jacket, nice jeans and a white shirt. Also appearing were Alain, Gary, Boz, Dean, and brand new member on keyboards Mike (sorry I didn't get his last name.)

The setting of the video was like a private intimate rehearsal with about 60 "fans" in attendance. I use the term "fan" loosely because from what I could tell I'd say only about 20% of us were actual fans while the rest seemed more like casual observers who didn't fit the usual L.A. Morrissey fan profile. I'm puzzled as to why they didn't seek out a turnout of true die-hard fans.

Between takes, the band were very talkative to all in attendance. Morrissey himself would initiate conversation with us and was quite cheerful. One girl asked who Oliver Cromwell is/was. He playfully scolded her for not knowing and proceeded to give her a history lesson.

Alain in particular spent most of the time talking with background extras and playing little tidbits of songs on his guitar. He beamed with pride about "You Are The Quarry" and says that everyone is gonna love this album.

Mike, the new keyboard player, will be joining them on this tour making them a six-piece. I was told his most recent gig was with Macy Gray. He was brought to the band's attention through Dean. Dean is now sporting a mohawk haircut reminiscent of DeNiro's in Taxi Driver.

An all-vegeterian dinner was provided for all cast and crew.

---
An anonymous person also writes: